The Priory

The Priory

Tne north-east corner of the chancel, Beeston Regis Priory

During the 12th century there were two manors in the Parish and, as was often the case, a Church for each. These were “All Saints”, the existing Church, at which services are still regularly held, and “St. Marys”, which ceased to be a parochial Church when it became the Church for the “Augustinian Priory” founded in 1216.

It was founded by Margaret de Caiesneto or Cressy and she endowed it with a small estate in Beeston, to which was added the portion of Eudo de Moulton, who has been preserved in the name “Moulney’s in Beeston” by which the Beeston Priory Manor was sometimes called. Unlike many small houses of the Augustinian Order, Beeston Priory was independent. In the three centuries of its history it acquired other estates in the immediate area but its resources were never very extensive and at no time does it appear to have been staffed by more than the Prior and four Canons.

The Priory existed until 1538 when King Henry VIII banned the Catholic religion and ordered the dissolution of the Monasteries and Priories. From the ruins that remain it would appear that there was a nave about 75 feet long to which a chancel was added. Later a chapel was added on the south aisle and another transeptal chapel on the north. Later, extensive alterations appear to have been carried out at the west end of the nave, including the great west window, which probably dates from about the middle of the 14th century. The conventual buildings stood on the south side of the Church, this area is now occupied by a farmhouse.

At the dissolution the Crown granted the Priory together with its estates to Sir Edmund Windham Kt., and Gyles Seafowle Esq. The last Prior Richard Hudson and his four Canons all subscribed to the Royal Supremacy, i.e. accepted the Church of England as the supreme Church. On the dissolution the Prior and Canons all received pensions and the Prior became Rector of Newton Flotman in South Norfolk.

The ruins are a “Heritage Site” and are in the care of English Heritage and North Norfolk District Council.

Signposts by the common on the coast road (A149) guide visitors to the Priory.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Priory

  1. Kate Glover says:

    Is Beeston Priory really a World Heritage Site, as it says in your article? I can’t see it on any list of WHSs.

    • chrisgoodwin says:

      Sorry for the delay in replying. I have only recently taken over responsibility for the website and am relatively new to the area.
      I raised your question at the last Parish Council meeting where many long-standing residents were present and nobody knew where this came from. The priory is an English Heritage site and I have corrected this on the two locations where I found it.
      Thanks for your interest!

  2. Thanks for your observation and sorry for the delay in replying. I have only recently taken over the running of the website and took much of the information on trust from the previous website.
    I presented your observations to this week’s Parish Council meeting where many long established members were present. None of them could account for the presence of the word ‘World’ in the description and I have therefore now reported this as simply ‘Heritage Site’ for which there is ample evidence.
    Thanks again for your observation. It’s nice to know that someone occasionally reads my posts.

  3. John Hurst says:

    Hello. I am in the final stages of publishing a book of my favourite Norfolk coastal walks illustrated in watercolour. In it there is a painting of the footpath by Beeston Priory and a panoramic view from Stone Hill on the heath. I wondered if either of these images could be of value to the council as gifts etc for the 800 years celebrations of the priory.
    They could be made available at a reasonable fee, if they could be of value to the council. The works in question will be exhibited in Oddfellows Hall 2nd – 4th June, should anyone wish to view them.
    Cheers, John

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *